New Journalism Project

New Journalism Project logo

The New Journalism Project is a 501(c)(3) Texas nonprofit that publishes The Rag Blog, sponsors Rag Radio, and produces educational and community activities related to alternative progressive journalism.

Board of Directors:

  • Sherwood Bishop, President
  • Alice Embree, Secretary/Treasurer
  • cindy soo
  • Thorne Webb Dreyer

Mailing Address:
New Journalism Project
PO Box 16442
Austin TX 78761-6442

The Friends of New Journalism is a support group that coordinates volunteer efforts for The Rag Blog and for other activities sponsored by the New Journalism Project.

  • Co-chair: Alice Embree
  • Co-chair: Roger Baker

The Rag Blog logo

The Rag Blog ( is a reader-supported Internet newsmagazine produced by activist journalists committed to progressive social change. The Rag Blog is a digital-age rebirth of the pioneering underground newspaper, The Rag, published in Austin, Texas, from 1966-1977.

  • Editor: Thorne Webb Dreyer
  • Associate editor: Alice Embree
  • Designer and contributing editor: James Retherford
  • Contributing editor/National: Jonah Raskin
  • Contributing editor/The Rag Blog en español: Cecilia Colomé
  • Correspondents: Mariann G. Wizard, Lamar W. Hankins, Steve Russell, David P. Hamilton, Bruce Melton
  • Web developer: Beth Been
  • Web consultant: Terry Dyke
  • Web consultant: Carlos Lowry
  • Founding editor: Richard D. Jehn


Rag Radio logo

Rag Radio ( is a syndicated weekly radio show associated with The Rag Blog and the New Journalism Project. It is produced in the studios of KOOP 91.7-FM, a cooperatively-run all-volunteer community radio station in Austin, Texas.

  • Host and producer: Thorne Dreyer
  • Engineer and co-producer: Tracey Schulz
  • Still photographer: Roger Baker
  • Contributors: Alice Embree, Suzy Shelor, Glenn P. Smith